Dante and MacOS Catalina

josh88

Remarkably Tired.
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Location
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Correct. Don't update to Catalina yet on most show control systems if possible. Audinate still hasn't come out with a compatible version of Dante Controller for Catalina (as far as I know). DVS however should be stable as of v4.1.0.8.

There are a few work arounds but generally it still is risky enough that I haven't updated anything show critical.
 

RonHebbard

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Location
Waterdown, ON, CA
Correct. Don't update to Catalina yet on most show control systems if possible. Audinate still hasn't come out with a compatible version of Dante Controller for Catalina (as far as I know). DVS however should be stable as of v4.1.0.8.

There are a few work arounds but generally it still is risky enough that I haven't updated anything show critical.
"DVS however should be stable as of v4.1.0.8." @dvsDave 's unstable prior to v4.1.0.8 ?? Is @MistressRach aware of this???
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard
 

josh88

Remarkably Tired.
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Location
Ypsilanti, Michigan

zeighty

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Correct. Don't update to Catalina yet on most show control systems if possible. Audinate still hasn't come out with a compatible version of Dante Controller for Catalina (as far as I know). DVS however should be stable as of v4.1.0.8.

There are a few work arounds but generally it still is risky enough that I haven't updated anything show critical.
So bizarre… Did not see the warning until after I did this and started searching for answers. The warning is only posted on Audinate’s site, that I could find, when you click on support and then ”request support”. Perhaps it’s other places on their site and I missed it.
All of the IP addresses on all connected devices went crazy. Had controller and device IP mismatch. DC had correct range. It appeared to pick a random 192.168 range for the devices. Had to remove Mac then reboot the CL 5 to get everything straightened out. I was kind of surprised that the network did not recover after removing the Mac. Act one of a rehearsal last night could not be recorded because of this. At least it was a rehearsal.
 

limitedwave

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2020
Location
Nashville
What a relief to read! 🤣 I’ve been running my studio on a tiny Dante network for several years, so stable and solid. iMac died, got new one has Catalina on it. Got set up and everything works except the ins/outs of my FR Red4pre. RML32ai in my live room seems fine. The iMac gets an error on ip subnet mismatch but it says it fixed it yet the name stays red in the list. Hearing that it’s f’g Catalina is not surprising. Arg. I don’t have a machine pre-Catalina to d/l an installer for Mojave or HS. Anyone know of a good link for a standalone?
 

Dionysus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Location
London, Ontario, Canada
Yeah People are still having problems with Catalina and Dante, along with other software and drivers. Apple couldn't resist completely breaking backward compatibility with Catalina.
I figure this has an part in why we are still having issues with things like Dante that are specifically designed for backward compatibility.
They (Apple) really screwed the pooch in my opinion
 

Users who are viewing this thread