Desperately seeking techniques for "growing a garden before your eyes"

designmtp

Hello all,

I am a scenic designer currently in pre-production for two shows that require a "garden to grow before your eyes", or shall I say directors that require this effect. "Rapunzel" - featuring a small garden that appears to flourish in sight of the audience, and "The Secret Garden" In which a large scale English garden appears to bloom before our eyes. (I am aware that this is not a typical aspect of this show, but alas, I would like it to go down in history anyway).

I have searched high and low for a practical application of, or a simple solution to, such a thing, with no luck. I have some ideas that will be listed later in the post, but would love your input or success stories. The budget (at least for one of the shows) is fair, so employing small, simple hydraulics is not out of the question.

Most of these are regarding the larger production of "The Secret Garden".
Note: Trap space is limited to Center Stage. Projections may not be used.. sigh. The "ghosts could possibly operate each individual mechanism. There must be a fair amount of believable growth.

The obvious:
1 - Connect various pick points and fly "vines" up into the air
-The problem, of course, being that the cable will either have to be preset or
attached in full view of the audience, and will not easily allow for fluid transitions.

2- Double length scrim - A longer than normal scrim is plain on the top section and piled on the deck. It is flown out slowly to reveal the bottom half with sewn in trees/foilage/etc.
-The problem - this could be kind of goofy and may not accurately portray the
organic growth feeling I want, and there must be at least as much action
downstage... ideas?

The not so obvious:
3- Spiral Topiaries - Attached to telescoping poles inside of pots, a la a barber's chair.
-The problem- Where does one get such a hydraulic pole, and how does one control
it?