dimmer pack question...power limits...(total newbie!!)

allank44

hi all...total newbie here again...

Here's the deal...we've got a dimmer pack (have a DMX 512 controller to run it...so all good)

The dimmer pack is rated at 5A per channel (it's a 4 channel) and 15A total...

SO...we'd like to run 2 source 4 750s on that pack.

If I'm doing my math right one 750 would draw 6.25 amps...therefore 2 750s would draw 13A.

SO...we're alright for the total rating on the pack but a bit over on the per channel rating.

I'm thinking 1.25 amps over and I'm hoping that's doable...

OR...to be safe we relamp down to 575 watts...4.75 amps and all is well.

Are we on the right track??

TIA...(this site is great!!)

I would call the manufacturer, you may be able to run the 750's. We rented some dimmers for a small gig and they were similarly rated and I didn't have any lamps with a low enough wattage to fit the specs. So I called the guy we rented from and he called the manufacturer and they gave the ok to run the higher wattage lamps as long as we didn't go over the total rating of the packs. They might shoot that idea down but it could be worth the call.

Yeah, most of those packs don't take very well to be loaded to their limit (or even slightly under in some cases), so exceeding the limit will likely get you. Two fixtures at 575w is about all I'd trust -- any more is kind of a roulette-type of thing.

I agree with Les, it might work but do you want to find out it doesn't in the middle of a show? I would lamp at 575 and be safe. This is a good site to help with your questions.

... and he called the manufacturer and they gave the ok to run the higher wattage lamps as long as we didn't go over the total rating of the packs. ...