Control/Dimming DMX Advice

JLang76

I'm a high school student, so please pardon my limited understanding of DMX complexities.

I'm working on lighting a small stage (10'x10') for relay for life event. My equipment is a MyDMX 2.0 USB converter, 10x Chauvet SlimPAR, 2x Elation DesignSpot 250, a 3pin terminator and a ton of XLR cables.

Will it work to have a daisy chain of all these fixtures running through mic cables? If itll work best then I have the option to set up FOH right next to the stage, but ideally I would like to run it through an existing audio snake box up to the press box of the stadium. I figured that's probably pushing it though, am I correct?

I know it's less than ideal, but it's what I have available and I have no budget or anything.

Thanks!

Yes, the snake should work fine but if you are going to go through with it, I would at least test it before the event. You're only going to have issues once you send audio through the snake at the same time. I haven't had any experience with this exactly, but I know there can be cross-talk between cables that will transfer weird noises (DMX signal) to the cables with audio from the cables with DMX and out the PA. If you have enough DMX cable (or audio/ 3 pin cable), you can just run another data line for lighting out to the stage. Or if not, set up a lighting desk near the stage for the safest option. Personally, if I was getting paid, I wouldn't run it through the snake.

Yes, the snake should work fine
This information is not accurate. You’ll run into problems if you run DMX over an audio cable or an audio snake. Use dmx cable for dmx ALWAYS. CAT5e or higher is also suitable (Which May also be available in the stadium). But you will find yourself with issues if you run everything through audio cables.

Also, make sure to terminate your chain at the end, especially since you plan on doing a longer run.

Once again, DO NOT use mic cables for DMX.