Drama in the Tech Department!?

I am a freshman at my high school this year and I have worked about 10 different performances at my local auditorium running the soundboard/ setting up mics and moniters. I have ran 5 plays including one for the high school when I was still in middle school.
Recently, I was asked to run the sound for the middle school play, and instinctively I said that I would. I have been going to rehearsals and running music cues and taking notes about pack mic ons and offs.
Today I found out that all they want me to do is run the sound cues, and they are going to have some other freshman who has never done it before do the 24+ Pack mics, 3 PCCs, and 6 Hanging mics on an Allen and Heath GL2800. This angers me greatly because thats what I though that they wanted me to do. Does it make much sense to put the person with experience at a job that requires very little skill and can be done with very little preparation?
Another thing that makes me angry is that since he doesn't have a clue what he is doing, I will have to set everything up for him. Basically do all of his B*#ch work. I don't have a problem training someone, but why am I training a replacement that will graduate the same year as me?
Any thoughts or opinions on this matter? Can anyone make sense of it? What should I do? I will not quit, but I might complain.

Well, since you already have the "what to do about it" figured out, I'll help you answer your real question: "why".

A couple of things to ponder/find out:

Do the people in charge of the play feel that the other person is more qualified than you? And, conversely, do the people in charge of the play feel that you aren't qualified enough for the position you assumed you were filling?

I think that once you get those two things answered (from the horse's mouth, so-to-speak) you will have your answer.