Entertainment Engineering?

Quillons

Long time lurker; I finally decided to make an account!

I'm currently in engineering school, about two years away from a bachelor's in mechanical engineering and I plan on minoring in explosives engineering (mostly fireworks with some 'let's blow up a rock' on the side).

Eventually I would like to work at companies like Tait or Hudson Scenic, working on large automation pieces or structural analysis for stages.

What are some of the other big entertainment companies out there? I've realized recently that, compared to most of the engineering majors, I can only name a few big companies in my industry. How about current groups/websites/forums for entertainment engineering? I searched ControlBooth (going back 4ish years) and checked out the links people mentioned, but they were all dead.

Any less-obvious ways to improve my skills, so that I have both the entertainment experience and the engineering experience? I graduated from a technical theatre conservatory a few years ago, and work for the campus theatre department (which does not offer a major and operates as a small road house) so I have a background in theatre. I was thinking about hanging out more on this site in the scenery forum and seeing what I can pick up.

Industry opinions on becoming a PE? I used the thread on here to write a report on the Ringling Brothers accident and someone mentioned that having a PE sign off on rigging systems was becoming more common. How common is it?

Thank you for any help!

There are a number of manufactures that hire people with a technical theatre understanding and engineering training. Sounding like you lean to the structural and mechanical side, besides the two you mention Wenger/Clancy, Thern, and ETC all are involved in this kind of work in this country.