Faux Flying Doves

Hello! I've been asked by our dance production to find a way to create flying doves around 2 dancers on stage. The dancers would need to be wearing a rig, or holding something to create the illusion of the birds flying along with them. I'm new to stage production (worked in film before). Has anyone done a trick like this?

It really depends on how you want the effect to play. There are many ways to possibly accomplish something like this.

As you mentioned, the dancers could wear a rig, but that would mean that they a either wearing it for the entire piece or have to choreograph a way to get it on. This would probably provide the least dynamic look as the doves would be mostly static around the performers. It could also be potentially limiting in how close the performers could get to eachother and what kind of moves they can make.

You could create dove puppets and have people puppet them. They could be hand puppets or on poles. This would likely be the most dynamic way to achieve the effect as the puppets and performers could be choreographed in such a way as they could interact with eachother. It also would not hinder the performers.

Lastly, if you have the budget and technology, you could do projections. Design animations that play around the performers. Obviously this would require a projector and suitable projection surface, plus a projections designer/animator.

Thank you icewolf08! What a kind and thoughtful answer!

I agree a rig would not be the best option. The dancers will be moving on and off stage, so they will have opportunities to change props. I think a pole sounds very feasible, and I love the idea of projections (I hadn't even thought of that!)

Can you tell me what materials I would use for the pole puppet? Or do you know of an example video I could view?

I doubt we have budget for projections, but I'm wondering if there's some way I could pull that off from the wings.