Favorite tech mag

ruinexplorer

Sherpa
CB Mods
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
I end up subscribing to many different theater related magazines (Lighting Dimensions, Stage Directions, Lights & Sound America, etc.). What I was wondering is what others prefer for articles, new product info, classified ads, or other stuff?

I am a high school student, and have found a great deal of information in Light & Sound America. The price is great for a student too =D

I like it better than a few other magazines that I subscribe to.

Live Design has been getting better over the last 6 months or so, kind of makes me glad they merged Entertainment Design and Lighting Dimensions together. Lighting and Sound america is also pretty good.

Ross, almost everything is free if you know where to look.

Live Sound International

Ross, almost everything is free if you know where to look.

Live Sound International

Agreed, I don't pay for any of them (I have about seven that I subscribe to).

Since Lighting&Sound America published my article, I'm kind of partial to them, but I also like PLSN. Live Design, not so much. I miss the original Theatre Crafts and Lighting Dimensions, and the USITT Journal. Another I like a lot is ESTA's Protocol.

Last edited:
Since Lighting&Sound America published my article, I'm kind of partial to them, but I also like PLSN. Live Design, not so much. I miss the original Theatre Crafts and Lighting Dimensions, and the USITT Journal. Another I like a lot is ESTA's Protocol.

And it was a fabulous article straight out of these very forums too!

I like L&S America and Stage Directions the best. You can really learn something reading them. Lot's of great new tricks, product reviews, learn from the interviews with pros. Live Design is mostly pretty pictures without a lot of content to learn from. It's nice to look at but not something that you read and say "Oh I never thought of trying that before." PLSN/FOH are good for industry news but the articles are kind of week.