Control/Dimming Female Edison to male stage pin question

yoink52x

Hello, I am a high school teacher. I am primary a band guy but I am also the theater guy.
My question is about using a female Edison to male stage pin. I know there are other threads on this topic but I have found them difficult to understand.
I recently bought 2 cables like this so I can use some regular lamps in an upcoming production. We have a EDI Bijou light board. Do I need to do anything special on my light board to make sure the light/lamp does not explode (or whatever may happen)? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!
Steve

Edit
Yes they will be 60w A19 type bulbs.
Thank you guys so much! This was a big help as now I will not have to try and figure how to learn new features on my light board.

s

Last edited:
Just so you know, adapters are properly referred to by their male end first. Not everyone follows this, but I was burned by a rental shop for not knowing this at a young age, so it's stuck with me. By saying a "stagepin to edison", it is implied that it is a MALE stagepin to Female edison.

Anyway, if you bought your stagepin to edison adapters pre-assembled from a reputable source, then I would think they should be wired correctly and with the proper cable. A household lightbulb is functionally no different than a high wattage theatrical lamp. (I know that is oversimplified but I'm just trying to explain things clearly). What kind of dimmers will these be plugged into? Sometimes older dimmers/cheap dimmers cannot properly dim low wattage loads, and thus a ghost load is needed to achieve complete blackouts. What kind of "normal lamps" are we talking about? Just like a table lamp with regular 60 watt A19's?

Last edited:
...Do I need to do anything special on my light board to make sure the light/lamp does not explode (or whatever may happen)? ...
As long as the luminaire or practical you're plugging in (which I'm guessing has a NEMA 1-15 plug