Flat support in narrow space

DevonN

Hi Folks,
So long-story short my wife works with kids theatre and asked me to help on a couple shows last year (one as just a build hand and the other three smaller shows as the sole builder). Fast forward to this year and I have 5 shows on my agenda, one down four to go. I am great with my hands and a quick learner and the old guys around the theatre are a great resource, but I'm looking for some a new solution to an old problem we have (as an IT manager by trade, looking for solutions is what I do).

We have a narrow performance hall that has a tile floor and dry-walled ceiling. When I say narrow, the distance between the audience and the back wall is less than 20 feet. On the back wall is a curtain that can either go flat against the wall or stand-out ~2' for actors to run back and forth.

In our next show the director (not my wife, but my wife's name is still attached) would like a wall that runs the width of the stage but also have the curtain out from the wall. With 25+ kids on stage you can see that having jacks presents an issue (either they have to jump them behind the curtain or the wall stands out another 2-3').

There are 4 - 4x10' flats lying lengthwise on the set for a total of 20' long x 8' high. The wall isn't supporting any weight besides itself and actors won't be leaning or touching the wall (accidents do happen though).

I did this last year with three jacks/cinder blocks and stiffeners/battens but the curtain was flat on the wall and nobody had to pass behind. I've been told attaching to the back wall is not an option (concrete/block and they don't want holes).

Is there a better option?

I've thought of a few but wanted some other opinions before I build it the standard way.

- Shallow jacks with heavier weight
- 2-foot wing walls on an angle and a single jack on the middle seam
- putting a light behind the curtain and marking the jacks -> the kids will just have to deal with it