FOH amp combo

llewop

I am considering the purchase of two Peavey sp2's. I have a Crown XLS602 amp to run them. Is their any benefit in running in bridge mode. That would be a 4 ohm load for 1648 watts. Or should I just run in stereo mode for 380 watts per 8 ohm speaker / channel? Would the sound be louder for either mode? I'm just getting into these things out of necessity. I want to build a first quality sound system for my musical endeavors. I do have some miked drums playing with me at times. I play acoustic guitar and when I get the opportunity to get a strong rythm player I break out the Strat.
These sp2's are rated 500/1000/2000watts. Two way speakers.

You definitely do not want to run stereo, there's not enough power for the speakers.
In an ideal situation you would supply them with around 850 watts.

An XLS 5000 would be the perfect amp for these cabinets.

I am disappointed as the correct answer is "it depends", especially since the question was about using an existing amplifier and not what amplifier to buy. There is a difference between "how loud can I get" and "how loud do I need to get", between "what is the most power I can practically put into a speaker" and "what is an appropriate amplifier and speaker combination to use for an application" or "Will this work?". Are you playing living room concerts or outdoor festivals? Folk or thrash metal? Lots of dynamics or heavily compressed? When you mic the drums, do you mic the kick? What are the relative importance of absolute loudness, sound quality and reliability?

One benefit to running the XLS602 in bridge mode powering both speakers might be if you want a new amp. I'm not sure where you got the 1,648W, 4 Ohm bridge mono rating as all the current information Crown shows for the XLS602 indicates that the XLS602 is not rated for a 4 Ohm load in bridge mode operation.