Freelance Lighting Programmer Paperwork

Dkick

So what do freelance lighting programmers need to have as far as paperwork?

Do they have their own personal W-9 form, Liability form, banking info?

What paperwork do you need to have to become a freelancer?

Thanks.

I don't have any particular advice about what is required to be a freelance lighting designer, but I have looked pretty extensively into being a freelance software developer and I'm about 90% sure that tax wise and legally they are the same. How to attract clients and run a business? That's the different part that I can't help with.

The term "freelancer" probably means "self-employed" and your legal requirements are pretty simple, as far as I can tell. I am not a lawyer and you should consider finding one to help you if you are going to make your entire living this way. You definitely don't want to end up in trouble because you miss-filed paper work or followed an internet strangers advice.

As a self-employed person you still have to pay income taxes AND self-employment tax AND follow any state regulations and taxes on self employment. The IRS website is actually pretty helpful in figuring out what that means. https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/self-employed-individuals-tax-center

I could sum up what I think that page says, but since you definitely don't want to follow my legal / tax advice you should probably just read it yourself.

Then you will need to file paperwork in your state of employment. I live in MT so I will describe what I would be required to do if I wanted to start my own business and pay my own taxes. Because there is no professional liscensure requirement as a software developer (like there is for lawyers, electricians, contractors, gunsmiths, etc...) it's actually as easy as following the federal requirements here.