Hardwood Flooring

disc2slick

Hey Guys,

So in a fit of blind ambition I agreed to design/build the set for a small theater company in my area (I'm a lighting designer mainly).

A large aspect of the set is the floor, which I want to be hardwood. Obviously we are not going to use realy hardwood, but a paint treatment. I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips on it. Mainly how to replicate the lines that exist between the individual planks, but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks gang,
Dan

Well, I'd imagine painting those lines and planks would just be some careful measuring and marking, and then just a long time of painting if you choose to paint it.

Also, I've never tried this but I would probably want to go about putting some coats of polyurithane (sp) on the floor just to give it the shine (but being nice to the LD, as you prob know, and not making it too shiny). Just enough to make it look real, and to distract from some of the places of inconsistancy painted on the floor. Another thing, depending on the lightness of the "wood" you are trying to create, I would think darker "hard wood" is easier to fake. Just bc, most of the gradient of colors would be darker and harder to spot from a distance than a brighter colored finish. Just a thought.

one option if you have the cash, and it does not really burn that much, is to wet blend on enough luan to cover your deck. After it has dried cut it into 3,4, and 5 inch pieces. Either staple/screw those strips down to the deck. The staple route works, but remember you have to take up all those staples later. This method gives the realism of hardwood for not all that much, and it also gives some nice movement.

When we built a hard wood floor earlier this year for "The Dead", we took sheets of lauan, ripped it down to 6" or 8" (i forget) pieces to resemble floor boards, and laid them on top of Maso in a floor board pattern.