Hello from MI

Jason Pratt

Hello,

I am a Tech Director/Facility Manager/Director at Waterford Kettering High School in Waterford, MI. I run a 750 seat performing arts center designed to run theatrical productions, band/choir/orchestra concerts, dance recitals and competitions, and presentations. My stage is roughly 104' wide with a 50' proscenium opening and 44' deep. There is also have a 13' apron DS of the proscenium wall.

The district has recently upgraded our sound capabilities from the original 2003 equipment. We are now using 16 Shure ULXD wireless receivers (4 quads), 16 Shure WL-93 lavs, 4 Shure BETA87A handhelds, and a PreSonus StudioLive 32 series 3 board. Unfortunately our Shure wireless system runs a Dante network, but our PreSonus board does not so I am still XLR connected rather than networked.

My lighting system is conventional incandescent lighting. I have 102 Altman Shakespeare S6-series ellipsoidals, 12 Colortran 8" Fresnels, 32 Altman Die Cast PARS, 8 Colortran 4-cell far cycs, and 8 Colortran 3-cell cyc strips. I also have 12 Apollo Smart Color scrollers, but not enough power supply to run more than 10. There are 3 Colortran i96 dimer racks containing 288 Colortran i-series 2.4kW dimmers. We have recently upgraded to an ETC ion lighting console that we are unfortunately not using to its potential due to our lack of intelligent/LED lighting (hopefully I can begin working on that problem...)

I do not have a tech theatre degree, and I am essentially self-taught. I am constantly attempting to learn new things to make my facility "state-of-the-art", my designs more intriguing, and my students better at everything they do. I am really looking forward to learning many things from the people on this forum.

Last edited:
Welcome Jason! Nice looking space you have there. I think the guy in the last picture is feeling pretty silly he didn't bring a date to the show... ;-)