Hello from "Not so sunny" California

Nikgwolf

Hello to everyone out there on CB! I'm Nik and I'm a Senior at San Francisco's School Of The Arts high school. I am a student lighting designer incredibly concerned with getting into college. I have designed many shows at my high school, local community theatre, and local performing arts school arts school in Pacifica. If you're interested, my Flickr site has photos of some of my best work: Flickr: nikgwolf512's Photostream

I am a member of USITT and also plan on attending LDI this October! I own student copies of Lightwright and Vectorworks 2008 and would gladly trade some hours of hard labor for a few minutes of Vectorworks training! (Whew, there's a lot to learn)

I am currently looking at four colleges: University of Cincinnati, Carnegie Mellon, SUNY Purchase, and Boston University. If you know more about these schools or would like to add your own personal insight, I'd love to hear it. Otherwise, I hope everyone has an awsome year!

Nik
[email protected]

Oh, of course, the part about "Not so sunny" California....it's true! It's funny how most people assume that the west coast is sunny and warm...it's not. At least in the Bay Area anyway! So to anyone who plans on touring the wonderful city, don't forget your jacket!

Nik

...So to anyone who plans on touring the wonderful city, don't forget your jacket!...
I learned that lesson the hard way. Nearly froze my ***** off walking around downtown SF one April.

You've chosen some very good schools for which to apply. Out of curiosity, why no CA schools? Sounds like you want to be a Broadway lighting designer? If yes, I'd put Carnegie-Mellon at the top of your list, and add NCSA (NYU for grad school).

edit: nice photos. [Producers Prefer Pretty Pictures].:)
This one is my favorite: Link.
proxy.php

Last edited:
Welcome!

...School Of The Arts high school. I am a student lighting designer incredibly concerned with getting into college.

Welcome to the club! :mrgreen: