Help and Advice

apollo66

Hi Everybody,
First off. This forum has always been a big help whenever I've needed advice. So thanks. Now, I'd like to tap the well of knowledge once again as I have an issue that is probably pretty common.

My wife and I are American citizens living overseas. I graduated with an Middle School Education degree (to pay the bills) and a theatre minor (its my passion). She graduated with a full Bachelor's in theatre and we've been happily married for 2 years now (life-story 'nuff said). We're looking to move back to the states. We're both 25 and have been working in non-theatrical jobs (her retail, me teaching) since we got married. We want to make some sort of theatre work (theme park, scenic work, lighting or even general stagehands) our life careers. I have some experience in lighting with addressing and programming basic Par Cans using a DMX software called Venuemagic. I used it after setting our local church up with a basic lighting system. We both worked backstage in college as well.

So here's the thing. We've been on backstagejobs.com for the last year applying and applying with very little results. We've tried just getting internships to get the experience first but we can't even get that! There are no local theatres to volunteer for down here (church is the closest thing) where we live and we don't have the time with the fulltime jobs that we have.

Does anybody have any advice or know of any leads that might help us out? Also, I'm attaching a link to my digital resume in case you might be able to forward it on or give some feedback.

Thanks Again!

apollo66

Nathan Terra Online Resume - Lighting and Scenic Design

Nathan,