Control/Dimming Help! - Dimmer Packs and DMX won't communicate

tjpeter95

My school has a theater program coming up soon. We lost our tech guy and now no one knows how to make our stage lights work!
Warning: I am totally new to this. There is a lot of lingo I am picking up as I read through instruction manuals, so I don't know if I am explaining everything perfectly.

Here's the equipment we are dealing with:
  • NSI DDS 9600 (There are two packs daisy chained together -- every light is plugged into this, Pack 1 has a label that reads "Channel 1-6" and Pack 2 reads "Channel 7-12")
  • ADJ DMX lightboard (It is attached to the dimmer packs via a plug on the rack, which the dimmers are also hooked to)
I know the lights and the dimmer packs are working and I know the lightboard is working, but I can't get them to function together. I have read the instruction manuals for each, but I can't figure out how to affix each channel on the dimmer boxes to a Fixture on the DMX operator. I read about MPX Addresses in the DDS manual and DMX addresses in the lightboard manual, but I am struggling to understand how they work or if I am doing/looking at the right thing as I flip the pieces of the dipswitch to program the board's fixtures.

Please help me -- how do I get these dimmer packs and DMX board to work together?
Let me know if there is more info necessary. I will provide what I can.

Hi and welcome to the booth.
Can you tell us the model of the ADJ light board?
For trouble shooting it can be easier to take the board to the dimmer and have only 1 DMX cable out of the board and plugged in to the dimmer.
Once you have that done (and I am going to make some guesses about your board) and everything is powered up slide the first fader up and see if you get anything.
Is there buttons down the left side labled scanners? If there is press the first one and repeat the fader movement to see what happens.
This is as far as I can take you without the model of the light board.
Regards