Help putting playback system together, please?

sfxGuy

Hi guys,

Been lurking around here a little over a year. This is my first real post.

I've been working with a community theater for just over two years now. I've designed and/or engineered 11 shows for them. When I first started, all I had was a Mackie 1604 VLZ, a CD player and a mini-disk player. Summer of 2011, I was given a 6 year old PC, running XP with a decent Creative Labs card capable of 7.1 output. I made unbalanced 1/8" stereo to 1/4" cables to get into the Mackie. I bought a copy of SCS and off I went. We do suffer through slight, occasional noise that has been narrowed down to the playback computer and/or cables (probably the internal D/As). It's noticeable sometimes but not obnoxious.

We also do a lot of fundraising events like sing-a-long Sound of Music or Wizard of Oz and also an interactive Rocky Horror. We license and screen the material and actually do a fun interactive plan. I'm sure you guys know what I'm talking about. We didn't invent it... At first, I only had an old DVD player with RCA stereo outs to the Mackie. Over a year ago, we bought a new Blu-Ray player (when we replaced the projector) and continued using the RCA stereo outs. We also do collaborative events with local filmmakers where we show their film, then have a Q&A afterwards.

Last May, we had the old FOH stereo system replaced with E-V L/C/R/Subs, amps and processors. It was a huge improvement! But we were still driving it with the Mackie or a rented console for musicals, usually a Venice 320. Last November, a nice elderly lady approached the theater wondering if we were in need of any equipment, large or small, to "make the experience better". Was she kidding? We asked for a new console and got a Pro1! I rewired the patch cables for my setup with XLRs and there I was.