Help setting up tech in a hotel...

spoonifur

Some friends are planning to make their own Anime Convention next year. I'm going to be doing all their tech, but I'm kind of new to setting up outside of a theatre setting.

I'm pretty set on audio, but I really need help with lighting. I have no idea how to set up lights on their own. The only way we've done it at school is by getting 3-pin to Edison and just plugging them in and leaving them on. Which I'm perfectly fine with doing. (4 S4's, 2 trees, lighting one small stage.)

But we're also hosting a dance, and they want "fancy" lights. I don't know the first thing about setting these up. When we set up outside of theatre we've only used LED color bars and just plug them into our lighting board which we haul down to the event.

BUT, we're going to be renting everything for the weekend and since this is a first year convention we don't have a lot of money.

How do I go about renting the right equipment for these?
- 4 lights, 2 trees, 4 3-pin to Edison connectors.
- 2-3 "fancy" lights
- Controller?
- etc???

Also, I haven't been down to the venue yet. What should I inquire about for lights, and set up?

I think I'm more than capable of figuring this out before next year, to be honest. I have a guy from a company who will help me out though.

"Fancy lights" is pretty vague, I just wanted general advice at how to set up smart lights. DMX? And a controller of some sorts, I'm assuming?

Venue isn't too huge, movers would be too big I think. I just need something like party lights. I was more or less wondering if I can just get plug and play type things, and not have to use a controller at all.

(I've only been trained lighting in our theatre. So I can program lights, and I can run our board, but I obviously won't have that there.)