Help(Theater Student)

ryancomet

I am a Lighting student, and i am writing a dissertation on incandescent sources versus led sources, and their impact on design. i have written a section about how leds stack up to incandescent sources technically, but if anyone has some nuggets of information about how leds have changed lighting design in a theatrical context it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

It's changed the game significantly... surprisingly it's an incredibly broad subject, because you can look at it from many artistic angles. Most importantly additive vs (filtered) mixing, intensity shifts (red shift), ability to change the entire mood/theme of a look with only a few buttons... I think you should also explore time. LED has been competitive for a relatively short time, but has been in use for a relatively long time when discussing electric light sources. LED technology particularly in the entertainment industry has jumped by quantum leaps over the years, but I would still claim in my personal design aesthetic that an incandescent source still breathes and lives with a production with a sense of soul that I haven't found comparable in an LED source.... yet.