Automated Fixtures Help with Studio Spot 250s

Hey, I'm relatively new to this forum and I have a couple of questions, mostly regarding Studio Spot 250s. First, some background. I live in a pretty wealthy area that is very school focused. Because of this, our theater is very privileged. I'm expected to take over from our main LD this coming spring, as he's graduating, so I'm doing all I can to familiarize myself with what we have.

First, just an idea of what we have to work with. In our inventory, we have over 100 Source 4s of different degrees, 20 6" Fresnels, 15 S4 Pars, and 20 Par cans. We also just acquired 5 Studio Spot 250s. We use two boards: an ETC Express 24/48 and a 48/96. As for the theater itself, we have a 17' x 55' proscenium.

My questions are mainly regarding the Studio Spots. I have very little knowledge about them and was hoping to learn more. Where would be a good source of information? The user manual is helpful, but I was wondering if there was a way I could put some software on my computer to familiarize myself with them. I'm also curious about the preset effects that can be produced. How can I see what each does?

Sorry for the abundance of questions...

- Molly

The best place for you to start is where you have, the manual. The next option is using the Off-Line Editor found here
It will be a little different in that it looks more like the expression than the express, but still a good spot to work from.

If you are looking for more information about the studio spot 250 check out the High End Systems Forum

What Thommy said. Also talk to your local dealers. Some (especially if you buy stuff for them) would be happy to give you a quick run through of its capabilities. Finally, since you have them, there is no replacement for sitting down with them and playing. Also just think of them as another tool for your design, just like any other light. All the rules that apply to other lights apply to movers as well.

Mike