Hi All

rochem

Hello all. My name's Michael. I'm a HS Lighting Designer who's been working extensively with every high school in the area EXCEPT mine due to a control-freak director. Fortunately, I think I'm starting to convince him that he can use some extra knowledge, especially after the "we don't need to use dimmers, we have FreSSSnels" conversation :). My high school has ONE guy who hangs around and does everything - Director, TD, Lighting, Sound, Set, Choreography, Producer, and pretty much everything else except MD. Unfortunately he isn't good at any of them. My school has absolutely no theatre or tech classes whatsoever, so the majority of people just kinda pick up what they know through a combination of guessing and pushing random buttons.

Anyways, I've been a frequent reader of this board for a while now, and just decided to make my first post. I'm sure I'll have lots of questions in the near future, as I've already learned so much here without ever posting. I just got recruited to work a show this summer in a theatre I've never seen on a console I've never used. So it'll be a fun next few months :).

Last edited:
Glad to have you come out of the shadows and join up. Now don't be shy, join the discussion... or at least join the insanity in the off topic forum. By now you know the importance of using search. Welcome! Let us know how we can help you.

Hello,