Hi and a question

jfc123

Hi everyone! My name is jfc123 and I just stumbled upon this forum. I am a high school student going into my junior year at a private school in New England (USA). While I did a little before hand, last year I dove into theater tech full force. At my school I have done light board op, lighting design, sound board op, sound design, video production, stage manager, carpenter, and basically every job you can think of. Last year, I work for two hours after school everyday, as well as very often on weekends teching for various events. My technical teacher is wonderful, and I feel like he has taught me so many things. I plan to continue to do all of this, and more, next year. I am starting an independent study where I will work one on one a few days a week learning all that there is to learn about the theater, as well as continuing all that I was doing this year.

I have a question for you guys, if you do not mind answering. In a few weeks I am going to San Diego, CA for a little over a week. There, I plan to look at a few colleges (or universities. I will use these terms interchangeably for this post.). I was wondering if any of you have any suggestions on colleges to look at there for technical theater(or a list or other post or something that has useful information). A couple of points to note:
1. My GPA is a 3.4, however the classes that I take are extremely difficult. (AP World History as a sophomore, honors for basically every other class), so I can get into relatively good schools.
2. My tentative plan would be to double major in Chemical Engineering and Technical Theater, so it would be good if the college had Chemical Engineering as well (or a strong science and engineering department)
3. I have no interest in acting, and do not want to do this.
4. My favorite part of tech is lighting and sound, I do not enjoy carpentry as much.