Hi from the UK

indyLD

Aha, was looking for an introduction thread but gave up. Now I find it.

Hi all,

My name is Rob and I am a freelance LD and programmer working in the UK and Europe. I have been lurking at the CB forums to get a feel for all things lighting in the US and to brush up on my US terminology (reason for that in a minute).

I have been around theatres for as long as I can remember, and although I have working in concerts and events for the last 15 years I have a background in traditional theatre. I trained at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School (like all those famous English actors) and now live in the West of England with my family.

I am looking forward to getting involved in discussions here at the CB and trying to understand lighting on the other side of the pond. The reason?

Well, I run a stage lighting blog for beginners and it is getting quite popular worldwide. At the moment, I only really have a handle on what's happening in the UK despite the fact that my readers are from all over the world, particularly the US.

I am interested in techie education for the next generation and also developments in our industry. I have uses quite a few different consoles and so often have an opinion or two about new moving light controllers that come out. I try to translate all this "pro" stuff into articles that the On Stage Lighting readers can understand and progress in their field.

Welcome Aboard!
I'll be next to no help what-so-ever in advancing your modern lighting in America knowledge, however, I'm pretty good with the old stuff and very opinionated about what I like. :mrgreen:

You'll find, or maybe you already have found, that there are a lot of us interested in, 'bringing up the next generation right." Glad you're here.

And I'm really good at "Lights? You need lights? I don't do lights, man." - sorry, set designer, SM, scenic artist, but not LD. I look forward to reading what you and the others have to say.