How to become Lighting Technician?

Hiya CB guys

I've had a passion to become alighting technician since i was little... How do i go about becoming one? whats best? Aprenticeship? College? I'm studying Music Technology at the moment in college but i don't want to do the sound side of theatres i would like to move into lighting? How do i get into it? :)

Thanks!!!

Brett :D

Well for me, I just started asking questions as much as I could every time I saw a show and letting anyone with authority know that I was always available. I got some calls from a few local production companies to push carts. And was doing it for a couple months until I finally got to be an electrician and start moving up! If you don't have much experience right now, I would say you could start by taking a Stage Lighting class at your college! That would give you some basics. And then you learn a lot from just doing and asking questions!

Do you want to do theatre (as in musicals, plays) or do you want to do live music? If you want to do live music, having a music technology degree might not be a bad idea. 9 times out of 10 most LDs who role through here started by doing audio, the LD quit/overdosed/etc, and soon they were the LD. The music technology degree would get you in the door at least. If you are already a few years in, might as well stick with it. Also remember that only a small number of bands actually travel with an LD, but all of them travel with at least an FOH engineer and a guitar tech. So, having the music background will help. However, if you are 6 months into the program and want to do lighting, thats a whole other ball game. Depending on what you want to end up doing really dictates what you do for training.