How to get sound from people above a small orchestra without radio mics?

Hi,

I'm a drama tech at a school and we're currently gearing up to do the school play - and while I'm vaguely competent with sound, it's not completely my area of expertise, so I was coming on here to see if I could get some advice with a huge conundrem....

We are doing a musical - we have a small orchestra with 1 cello, a few flutes, a piano, a clarinet and a violin - this is micced, but mostly just for the sake of a monitor that enables them to hear everything back. We then have our main characters micced with radio mics, so we can easily raise the volume of their singing above the orchestra. We do however have a few times where odd characters sing a solo line in a song and we don't have the capability to attach a radio mic to them but we still need to pick them up.

We first tried hanging 3 cardoid rifle mics from the top of the stage, one left, one centre, one right (for the record, I didn't think this would work, but it was recommended by a professional company!) - we managed to pick up spots but they didn't quite do what we wanted, and quite often gave feedback. Out of curiosity we also tried this with a vocal handheld mic, which as expected was even worse.

We've now tried putting the cardoid mics on the front of the stage, about an inch above the floor, pointed diagonally up. We have four of these, two in the centre pointed away from each other and one on each side of the stage pointed in at an angle. We tried them out yesterday and they were picking up better. But when we try it with a play run through tonight I know it will pick up footsteps, or give feedback, or find another way to inevitably fail.