Control/Dimming Ion's DMX over StrandNet nodes?

I have not used the Strand Nodes much, but I have lots of experience with PathPort. Unless the nodes have a really odd configuration, you should have it. I would of course defer to anyone with more Strand specific experience, but you are really are dealing with just DMX and conversion over the Strand network protocol, so you should be all good.

~Dave

Yup, you can do that. You just have to go into the "input" node and switch it to an input and then make a male to male 5 pin cable. I assume you have SN110 nodes, which were sold as being "ACN Ready". If the day ever comes when the push the update to those nodes so we can actually use them with ACN based consoles. One day... maybe...

Just and FYI, if you have the nodes laying around patch in a laptop running MagicQ, it outputs shownet (Strands protocol) just fine. Thats what I use to connect my magicQ to the world.

If you are using SN110 nodes and have any problems getting them to receive the Ion DMX, exit Ion, go to Settings, then Ion, and then change the DMX speed for the port you are using to Slow. Some SN110 nodes need a very long interpacket idle time in order to receive DMX and we have accomodated that in the Slow setting.

David

Strand nodes not working

ok well I have not yet tried to change the setting to slow.... wil that change response time? Currently I have everything set up and now but nothing is working.... both nodes have a heart beat but they both have a line struck through on the LED where it says DMX in and DMX out it looks like [-]DMX in[/-] Any thoughts?

No Arrows I assume? Are they both on the same networks.. IE... 192.168.0.???

Re: Strand nodes not working

If there is a line through the DMX In, then it is not receiving DMX. Try changing the speed and let us know what happens.

Your response time will not be noticeable as you will be changing from around 40Hz to around 25Hz.

David

Re: Strand nodes not working