Is College for Me?

StewTech

Howdy all.

I know the sticky has some information, but this is really a specific problem.

I have been involved in educational theatre and community theatre since I can remember. Last summer, I interned at a larger local production house, and this summer, I worked with the local Light-Opera company. I love it, and I want to do it for a living.

However, here is my conundrum;

I am planning on attending Otterbein University for a BFA in Theatre Design and Technology. However, I am going to have to take a out a loan of about $16,000 a year-my scholarships only covered about half. That's going to put me in a lot of debt. And the people in that program have said that a job is not something you can maintain during school because the program is so intense. I'd love to go, but it's very expensive.

To top it off, since I have no credit-I've never had a credit card or loan before, I need a cosigner for every loan I've tried applying for. Well, my mother refuses to cosign because she has already cosigned all of my sisters loans, and doesn't want to take on any more. However, my father has terrible credit, and recently went bankrupt. So every loan I've applied for has been denied. In other words, I can't pay for this school.

So, is it worth striving to make it work out and be that far in debt for a career in theatre? Or should I not go to school at all, and try to get a job at a smaller production house? Or, do I find a cheaper school with a less-than-awesome theatre program and make that work?

What would you all recommend?

Thanks,
B.

Without help that you won't have to pay back, I think the traditional college route is not for you. 60k+ in debt is a lot of loans... by the time you get out that will probably be 70k after tuition goes up. That is WAY to much for anyone who wants a job in the arts.