Just drafted as "LD" - need help with rep plot approach

Stuart R

Hello all! I’m the new arts chair at a high school in Miami, and our lighting designer for our spring musical, going into tech in two weeks, has flown the coop, and I haven’t been able to find a replacement, so it’s going to be me. The good news is that I’ve been around tech theatre for a long time, know how to hang and focus instruments, know the difference between an ERS, a Fresnel and a PAR (etc.) The bad news is that I’ve never done an actual lighting plan/plot before. [And have never dealt with a “hybrid” LED/conventional rig, and I know next to nothing about LEDs and DMX channels (etc.), which is another challenge.] What I really need at the moment is some advice on a general approach to take to the space given our instrument inventory.

This seems a perfect opportunity to create a rep plot that I can use both for this show and as the starting place for all of our events (lectures to concerts to plays/musicals), reserving a certain number of instruments for specials and so on. I’m familiar with McCandless 3-point lighting theory, but also know that there are other schools of thought. I’ve also encountered folks with small instrument inventories who do a “modified” McCandless by using a dedicated front light for each acting area but then use generic side and/or top washes for fill instead of doing these area by area. I also don’t know what to add beyond area lighting. In my research I’ve seen a lot of designers who seem to use additional front washes for blending, and washes from the side or above, in more saturated colors, for mood and/or time of day. So lots of ideas and notions but I need help settling on a solid plan.

Attached is a schematic of our space (cafetorium – yay!) and our instrument inventory is below. I’d love some Big Picture advice on a general approach to take for a rep plot (i.e. how best to use what we’ve got).