Just Saying Hello

ChickenLive

I am a student at a high school that likes to work with all the fun toys for the theater department.

I know a little about lights and sound. I have run a couple shows, including the production of Hello, Dolly. For it, I mainly built the set but also helped run lights and sound FX for the show. We had two boards, two people (sometimes three if lucky) and a spotlight to run the lights. Oh, and not enough time or experience to get it completely done and practiced until the last couple shows. I personally had not seen the whole show front to back until opening night, we were so tight on finishing things. Along with the craziness, there was a couple really challenging/technical lighting segments that no one knew or had practiced. We had three stages all being used simultaneously.

The sound FX were just explosion sounds that I ran from my iPod into the soundboard. I still don't know if it is a no no or not to do that; considering that a video/broadcasting teacher apparently didn't like that we had it connected. Oh, and I have also wondered if it is wrong or just a pet peeve of my teacher to play music through the board when working on a project. She seems to only really like us to use a portable cd player instead.

Luckily the show went well despite the many challenges.

Welcome to the Booth ChickenLive. Tell us more about your space. Does your drama department have a website. What brand/model of equipment do you have? Do you have any questions about it?