Laptop for a Stage Manager: Recommendations?

lgarrett

Wall of Text:

Hi, I am currently a stage manager, about to graduate college with my BFA in Theatre Design and Technology. I have used many "gadgets" as a stage manager with great success in the past, and most if not all have helped in completing the job of stage manager. Now I am in need of a new laptop that will satisfy the demands of a stage manager in the professional world. (I have a desktop so this would primarily be a work computer). I figure I need something light enough to easily carry around or even pass to actors as needed depending on what comes up in the rehearsal process, as well as having decent speakers if some kind of sound or music effect is needed in the rehearsal process. (Or I was wondering if it was simply a better idea to get external speakers). And of course long battery life would be nice for those 10 out of 12's. My budget is no more that $1,500 preferable $1,200 or below. Hopefully I can still take advantage of my student discount with 1 semester left. Durability Is Key. Any help or ideas would be great.

I will update original post with new ideas.

P.S.
I would also like to be able to easily present portfolio presentations for job interviews.

Ideas:

Lenovo Thinkpad (Been used by the business world forever)
Laptop PCs | ThinkPad Professional-Grade Computers | Learn | Lenovo | (US)

Sony Viao: (Heard good things like the idea of a bluray player)
Sony VAIO Laptops Desktops Computers PCs | Sony Store USA

Does anyone know if it's a better idea to buy from the company making the laptop or a retailer like NewEgg? Thank you for your time.