Laptop sound noise

Corbettlight

Hello,
When I have my laptop hooked into our sound board for music, effects, etc., it sounds great... Except when my laptop is charging. Is there any way I can fix this?

Thanks

Assuming you have no building power issues or poor cabling causing the hum, try one of these. I picked one up a couple of years ago, and it works great.

PAC SNI-1/3.5 Hum Killer Noise Filter Laptop Ipod MP3 - eBay (item 200366145511 end time Aug-22-09 10:53:38 PDT)

A more expensive but professional solution is the Whirlwind PC DI.
Whirlwind / Direct Boxes

Do swap out / check out your cabling and connections (both power and audio cables) to make sure there is nothing going on there causing it.

~Dave

I have heard that some laptops are particularly bad when plugged into a wall, even with a DI.

I have no personal experience with the situation, but could you get a different model of power supply for your laptop? That might solve the problem.

Or get a "real" audio interface such as the M-Audio FastTrack Pro ... you'll enjoy the improved sound quality as well as getting rid of the hum :)

I actually have an M-Audio (Pro?) Duo for home recording. Is there a way I could incorporate that into my design?

Thanks

I don't have much experience with this stuff, how would go about hooking it into the system?

Just hook it up to the computer via the USB ports using a regular printer-style usb cable. Hopefully your Pro came with a USB cable. If not, grab a printer cable. Then connect your outputs to your sound mixer using TRS cables (1/4" stereo jacks) to get balanced signal through. They must be TRS cables, not TS cables. The TRS jack looks like a stereo headphone jack, the TS looks like a mono jack.

Look at pages 4 and 5 in the manual:
P4, item 6: leave standalone switch in the OUT position
P5, item 2: connect via USB to your laptop
P5, item 4: use TRS cables to connect to input channels on your mixing board.