Learning Sound

Dustincoc

I'm a College tech theatre student. I need to teach myself how sound equipment work as the current tech teacher has no experience with sound technology. Teh system we have was designed by a sound geek and not a theatre guy about 15 years ago. I was wondering what would be the best place to start and/or any books that may help.

The best way how to learn is to read the manuals of the equipment. If no manuals, Then search for them online. If you cannot find any information anywhere then you are going to have to experiment.

Another shout out for the The Sound Reinforcement Handbook, every time I read the book I learn something new. The other option is to find out who installed the system and get them to come out and walk you through the system and teach you about it. What I did in college was just started playing and figure out how things worked and what happen when I twisted different knobs.

Good Luck.

Dustin Strobush
ETC Systems Group

I'll have check out that book. The one of the biggest problems with learning from the manuals is that the Audio Desk, a Soundcraft K1, user manual is written for someone who already knows sound. I was planning on experimenting sometime, The only problem being that the theatre is used for acting classes during the day and there are 2 shows in the space this semester and another in our other theatre. The guy who originally installed the equipment left the school more than 5 years ago. Since then, modifications have been made that havn't been documented and no one's sure what goed to what. What's the cost on the class, I can't make it but maybe the tech teacher could.