LED Lighting Questions for Purchase

dwardMICS

Hey smart people!

Question: Is there a purpose for a pure white LED fixture in a performance venue? When paired with a colored LED as the other area light?

I am a high school theatre teacher with a passion for design and production! For years, due to budget cuts and lack there of, I have been living with the good ole incandescent fixtures. Now at a new school, I am being asked to give informed opinions about LED lights! Yarg!

While I've been able to educate myself in many areas, LED lighting design techniques are still elusive! When I was dropping gels, we never left one open, we'd color all the lights we needed to. The vendor offering us a quote is telling me that it's for mixing with the LED light.

Is this a thing? Have things changed with LEDs that much? I'm coming from a position of stone age ignorance!

Thank you!

The next best thing in LED lighting is only 24 hours away.

Pick a level (cost/feature) of fixture that will allow you to experiment and learn.

But what about using a white only LED and a color LED to light the same area? Does that many any sense? I'm trying to figure out where the vendor is coming from regarding their quote and set up.

In some cases a Multi color LED light does not create a good white. Depending on how they mix and how the fixture is designed the whites can be off color as well as occasionally cast multi color shadows. So if it's in an area where they need a good solid white, and for one reason or another (usually budget) they went with a color fixture that did not cast a good white they may add a dedicated white fixture to fill that function.

There are lots of Color LED fixtures that produce excellent white, but they are usually more expensive. So you have to weigh the need for good white against the cost of a separate fixture when needed.