Led lights using Cat5 cable

Gabe A

Hello guys,

I hope you all can be able to help me with this one; I am a newbie willing to learn the best way of doing this.

I have 5 led lights that was stripped apart; I got them from a church that was giving their old microplex stage lights. They converted 5 of them using led lights with cat5 cables inside of an old par cans. Attached are images of what I got.

I want to merge all 5 of them together on 1 Ethernet cable on one end, and the other end will be a dmx connector. is this possible? I am not worried about changing the color of the lights on each led light panels, i want to control all 5 at 1 time.

Your counsel will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• WIN_20171118_13_20_34_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20171118_13_20_34_Pro.jpg
    139.9 KB · Views: 39
  • WIN_20171118_13_20_46_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20171118_13_20_46_Pro.jpg
    115.6 KB · Views: 37
  • WIN_20171118_13_32_10_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20171118_13_32_10_Pro.jpg
    111.2 KB · Views: 32
  • WIN_20171118_13_32_18_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20171118_13_32_18_Pro.jpg
    98.2 KB · Views: 32
It doesn't look like they gave you any sort of controller. You will need something like this or similar. The cat5 cable was probably just used for the number of conductors in it. You may need sometime with a volt-ohm meter and a 12V supply to figure out which leads do what.

It doesn't look like they gave you any sort of controller. You will need something like this or similar. The cat5 cable was probably just used for the number of conductors in it. You may need sometime with a volt-ohm meter and a 12V supply to figure out which

They gave me a NSI 6300 controller, and it had a DMX-512 optional interface, but its for 5-pin. I am going to purchase a controller.

Another question. Is there a way to control my track lights using dmx?

Hello guys,

I hope you all can be able to help me with this one; I am a newbie willing to learn the best way of doing this.