Leviton DDS 6000

TDChris

Question that I'm hoping someone can answer...

I have two portable Leviton DDS 6000 dimmer packs. Each has four channels. I am only running three source four 575w on each pack.

Each pack has two plugs that I have plugged into a surge protector (two surge protectors, one for each dimmer pack).

Periodically, the surge protectors trip and the lights shut down.

Anyone know why that might be happening? I feel like I am not pushing too many amps to the power strip.

Does it have to do with plugging both plugs into one power strip and then plugging that into an Edison outlet? Do you think my problem might be rectified by skipping the surge protector and going straight into the wall? If so, should I separate them out among two wall outlets?

I've never worked with a portable system before. My old Dove board would easily run four 575w Source Fours in the same manner with no problems whatsoever. I'm truly confused.

Thanks in advance.

Assuming you have a 15 amp breaker, you have 1800 watts (less when you figure in resistance and all of that fun stuff). Running 3x 575 S4s pulls 1725 watts. Most breakers also trip around 80% of their capacity. So you need to find a separate circuit for each Edison if your pulling from a 15 amp breaker.

If it is a 20 amp breaker, you have 2400 watts which is plenty to run the 3 S4s.

My rule of thumb is if it has multiple power inputs, run it off multiple circuits because that is how it was designed to work.

A question for someone else: Unless otherwise stated, these two power inputs (X and Y we'll call them) should be run off the same phase right? Or does it make a difference?

So you are plugging BOTH cables from each pack into a single surge protector?
The surge protectors are probably not rated to hold a full 15A load continuous, if you'd like to keep using surge protectors use one for each half of each dimmer.
The DDS 6000+ is designed with two cords to maximize the load.