The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Lighting My Scrim

Discussion in 'Lighting and Electrics' started by Oobleck1441, Jun 1, 2008.

1. Oobleck1441

Oobleck1441 Member

Next week I have a group coming in to put on sort of a talent show/an excuse to perform on stage. My no means, i don't mind

Usually for shows they want me to design, i like to use my scrim, and change the whole color of a scene, jsut somthing I prefer
    last time I did this, i lit from the floor with four VERY old pods, I don't want to do this anymore.

But, infront of my scrim I have my third set. If i hang four or five of my lekos, open wide and about four feet above my scrim would it work?
    Has anyone ever done this? or have any suggestions of any other way of "lighting it up" without pods.

Thanks, Oobleck1441

2. DHSLXOP

DHSLXOP Active Member

I'm by no means an expert in this type of thing but still - do you have any fresnels or par cans? In my opinion, they will work better for washing a scrim then lekos would. It seems to me that if you use lekos only 4 feet away, you would just get circles, not an even wash. Again, I'm not an expert, but that is what I would do.

3. Oobleck1441

Oobleck1441 Member

I can see what I can get together.. Your correct.
    I'll have to play around with some things and see

4. derekleffew

derekleffew Resident Curmudgeon Senior Team Premium Member

Oobleck1441, first even if it may be a sharkstooth scrim, it sounds as though you want to treat it like a cyc. Second, please explain what pods are. Third, there's no substitute for FarCyc-type fixtures. Before those we used scoops and striplights. See this picture for how ugly 19 PARS can light a cyc, even with MFL lens and silk.
    [​IMG]
    What other fixtures do you have?

5. Oobleck1441

Oobleck1441 Member

Similar to a scoop, and that the effect I get, I kind of prefer it,
    Just becuase i've never really seen how it should be done.
    Plus, I do have some Cyc fixtures.