Lighting "nodes" every where, but what universe are they?

NickVon

So our space, which i'm new to and still getting used to. Has DMX/network nodes all over the room. It's Great. I'm mostly utilizing the exisiting plot/channel setup for our fall play as I haven't had time to delve into configuring it exactly how I want. We have two nodes and 8 analogue circuits on our back wall. I've got some LED cyc units, but have no idea what universe each node might be. I know we got at least 14? (our Rack in the E-room is labeled but do the number on the network ports directly correspond to a Universe? we have existing ColorSource Pars on our 4 electrics that are in like universer 11-14 respectively?

Judging from some spoty paperwork I found lying around I though they might be universe 33 and 34. But when I patch the ColorSource Cyc Unit(addr 160) to 33/160 or 34/160 I get nadda?

How do I identify what universe the various nodes are around the theater so I can label them?

Exit Eos into the shell. Click on the "Settings" button on-screen, then click on the "Maintenance" button to the right, then find the "Net3 Concert" button to the left. You may only have the older "Gateway Configuration Editor" on your machine, at which point you should download Concert from etcconnect.com and install it on your board.

Concert handles all the networked devices. You should be able to identify individual nodes (by making lights flash) or by viewing their MAC address. From there, you can change the IP address for each node (to make certain it's not colliding with another node) and then set its DMX output.

(Also -- I'm guessing you have one-port nodes with no LCD screen on them; the two-port nodes are better if simply for the fact that the onscreen menu helps ID them quicker.)