Lighting Tech: Is It Too Late?

dpitch40

I'm a second-year undergrad who just realized how dissatisfied he is with his math and csci majors. Back in high school I worked with the tech crew (mostly on lights) for one and a half years and had the time of my life; I still come back to help them with shows occasionally. Now I'm starting to weigh my options for switching to a future in tech theater as I'm realizing how little I love either of my majors compared to it. Unfortunately my college only offers one unified Theater Arts major for acting, directing, writing, and tech. I found that I could get this degree in my remaining two years, but I don't know how it would compare with the programs of schools people are recommending here, and I would have to completely change my college plans. I have a full ride scholarship and a lot of credits at my current school, so switching schools is a last-ditch option. Luckily I have next semester to think it over and discuss with advisors, but I stumbled across this site on Wikipedia and thought I would ask for advice here. What are my options at this point if I wanted to go into a career in lighting?

Given your circumstances (credits earned, scholarship, etc), I would stay where you are, get the theatre degree, then get out into the real world and start building up a little experience. Even though the program at your school doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a dedicated tech program, you'll still learn a lot and likely make contacts with local companies that will help you land your first gigs. Getting a background in acting, directing, and writing will only benefit you in the future even if you don't ever want to be an actor, director, or writer.

Having a degree in tech theatre isn't the be all and end all in this business. At present, 100% of my income is derived from working in theatre and my degree is in History ...