Lighting tech's find new intelegent life-In a desk.

NickJones

Hi all. I am a High School student in Australia. We have a Zero88 Jester (GROAN) and a LSC ePak. But also in out out-dated drama hall exists a LSC WallpaK, and Preciept 12 (Old Pre-Set desk) that came with it. The long and the short of it is the desk has a mind of it's own. It decides what lights go on. What lights go off. And what lights should annoyingly flash. The desk itself is Anolouge, and it's not a setting problem, as there are no settings. And who in there right mind would put a setting that makes a desk go mad anyway??? The simple answer to this would be to just replace the Preciept 12 with the Jester. I wish it were that simple. Problem is, is that the dimmer doesn't use DMX. I know there are some converters out there. But this is a strage system it uses. It's a round plug, with about 14 pins. And it's about 10cm across. Can you get converters for this? How much will they cost? And would we just be better off to get a electritian in to un-hardwire the 3 Phase running to the dimmer. And put a 3 phase socket there so I could just plug in the new dimmer? Or does anyone have a Preciept 12, that we coud get? I know they stopped making them about 10 years ago. Anyway.
Thanks in advance,
Nick

PS. Seen this Luminair thing! OMG! If we had a wireless DMX and I had a iPhone then this would ROCK! It's soooooooo kewl!

Hi Nick,
Have you tried contacting LSC to see if they can fix your desk? It's likely that just a few faders are damaged and may be a reasonably cost efficient way to go.
Certainly there are still second hand Precepts available as there were LOTS installed in Melbourne schools. CC's Light & Sound in North Melbourne are a good place to try ... and I do have an old 12 channel one myself, that I may be willing to let go for a few dollars :)