Design Lighting

bdymond2

Hi everyone. I am a Lighting Manager for the Patchogue-Medford School District, however, I am not a student, I am a graduate and employed by the districts Technology Department. I am currently working on the musical Suessical for the High School, and are having some trouble trying to find out the lighting scheme for the musical. Anyone who may have worked on this once already, or anyone who may know where I can find the Lighting Scheme or Script, please message me back or e-mail me at [email protected]. I do appreciate it. Thank you.

Hi everyone. I am a Lighting Manager for the Patchogue-Medford School District, however, I am not a student, I am a graduate and employed by the districts Technology Department. I am currently working on the musical Suessical for the High School, and are having some trouble trying to find out the lighting scheme for the musical. Anyone who may have worked on this once already, or anyone who may know where I can find the Lighting Scheme or Script, please message me back or e-mail me at [email protected]. I do appreciate it. Thank you.

First of all, welcome to CB!

It is basically CB policy to no hand out designs. There is no ready-made "lighting scheme" for any show, and if there were, it would be very expensive to obtain as you would have to pay royalties to the original designer. As a designer, it is your job to design the show. If you have questions like "How can I achieve XYZ effect?" then we will be of more help.

Suessical is actually a great show to design as you can just make it all up, there is no period or realism that you have to abide by. You have to keep the basic rules of lighting in mind (make sure the actors are visible and such), but you really can be free to play with colors and angles and such.

Listen to the music and think about how it makes you feel, what colors you see, etc. Look at the set and costume designs, and think about how your choices will affect the scenery and costumes.