Light’s fan noise

Vivilama

Hello folks,

I am an absolute rookie in this field and was delighted to find this forum where I hopefully can get answers to my endless questions.

Now I am not working in this field but rather doing my own entertainment/ tutor show for YouTube. I decided to bump up the production value by adding stage lighting.
Basically the idea is that whenever someone donates money, I want the light mood to change to something vibrant. For my default mood I am using lights for video/film as skin tones are important. I wonder how I can switch the light mood of two worlds? Power switch?
I also have to pay a great deal of attention to noise as I want to record high quality sound and use sensitive microphones. I already get the problem that PC, video switcher and some other devices start to accumulate noise. It is still somewhat acceptable but now I worry about the DMX controller and DMX lights as I have spotted fans on them and know that they are made to be used in a noisy environment anyway. To be fair when changing mood music and sounds will also be triggered ( don’t know how yet ) so a little bit of noisy shouldn’t be an issue.

So long story short, how noisy are those fans?
Do they have an idle mode where the fan don’t spin or won’t the fans turn on if i

My room is fairly big but the mics might be about 3m(9 feet) away from the DMX equipment.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

vivi

@Vivilama "DMX equipment" as you termed it should be silent, or so close to silent you won;'t notice.
As far as fan noise on lights, several points:
Non-moving, non-colour changing, lights should have no fans and emit very little noise; a hint of vibrational buzz due to filaments heating and rattling slightly due to some dimmers but no moving parts and no fans.

If you want to progress into this century and gain features such as colour changing and / or movement.
Look at LED fixtures, generally less heat, less need for fans.