Long term DMX program

daught

Hello. I am an electrician, specialized in automation. This is not my field so please bear with me. I am inheriting a project where a building's lobby lights on each floor are controlled and dimmed using Leviton 005-D4DMX-MD3. The DMX network between controllers is cat6 with cat6 to DMX 3 pin adapters. The initial plan was to use a single Sunricher DMX512 Dimmer Master SR-2830ADMX to control the Leviton dimmer. I realize this is far from an ideal setup, and I had nothing to do with it's design.

The first item I need help with is choosing a controller. I need controller that can be programmed for a daily schedule that follows the daily sunrise/sunset schedule. Does such a controller exist?

There are architectural lighting controllers, such as ETC's Paradigm, that have this capability. Set longitude/latitude and it will adjust sunrise and sunset according to seasons.

The selection of a tree dimmer for lobby lights is interesting. Should be easy to replace though.

I have used these dimmer packs before but in a portable environment. If they are not heavily loaded then they will probably work fine. If it is one long DMX run, the last pack should have proper termination. Be careful not to plug into MPX connectors as these have power on the XLR.

Another architectural lighting controller that can do sunrise/sunset is Strand's Vision.Net. It might be good to discuss this situation with a dealer in theatrical lighting systems.

The very foundation of the DMX512 standard is that any DMX controller can run any DMX dimmer. Generally, this has been true for decades.

The Leviton dimmer appears to be a portable unit, unsuitable for permanent installation. These are often used on portable lighting "trees" that hold a few lights for small events.