looking for design advice

dj41354

Hello Controlbooth..
I'm an accomplished hardware/firmware developer that's been the electronic product development business for 20+ years. I'm currently designing a high performance RGBW (Red, Blue, Green, White) LED lighting fixture using Luxeon Rebels, the latest in high intensity LED technology. I've completed the proof of concept of a 12 LED RGBW (3 LEDs per channel), and I'd really like to know what some of you think of this product idea (my target customer is not a "pro" but a higher end, discerning amateur). Features: 12 LED RGBW (3 LEDs per channel) Luxeon Rebel LED's (something like 1500 Lumens total) with optics for a narrow focus (spot) or a wide focus (flood); total wattage aprox. 20Watts using convection cooling only (no fans needed); microprocessor based; 20Khz PWM freq; Setup using 2line x 26character LCD & 4 button user interface (on back of fixture); Various methods of control of LED's including DMX, simple RS232 serial data (Hyperterminal) or analog voltages (0-10v or 0-5v); Small size aprox 4.25" diameter X 4" deep; target sell price $200. Right now, the only thing that is still up in the air is the enclosure. The fixture will be incredibly light, and I wondering if a mostly open-frame, PCB type structure might be acceptable at this price point to this prospective customer.
Thanks for your help.. I really appreciate anyone's input or advice.

Welcome, dj41354!

I think the casing for the fixture might depend on a few things. Are you going to manufacture it yourself, or are you going to try to get one of the major manufacturers to buy the design?

It also depends on how durable your "open air" case can be. Your light will need to take a beating and keep on working. An open air case may look cool but probably won't be durable enough to keep the light in working order after a fall or getting hit by something.