Looking for design advice

dj41354

Hello Controlbooth..
I'm an accomplished hardware/firmware developer that's been the electronic product development business for 20+ years. I'm currently designing a high performance RGBW (Red, Blue, Green, White) LED lighting fixture using Luxeon Rebels, the latest in high intensity LED technology. I've completed the proof of concept of a 12 LED RGBW (3 LEDs per channel), and I'd really like to know what some of you think of this product idea (my target customer is not a "pro" but a higher end, discerning amateur). Features: 12 LED RGBW (3 LEDs per channel) Luxeon Rebel LED's (something like 1500 Lumens total) with optics for a narrow focus (spot) or a wide focus (flood); total wattage aprox. 20Watts using convection cooling only (no fans needed); microprocessor based; 20Khz PWM freq; Setup using 2line x 26character LCD & 4 button user interface (on back of fixture); Various methods of control of LED's including DMX, simple RS232 serial data (Hyperterminal) or analog voltages (0-10v or 0-5v); Small size aprox 4.25" diameter X 4" deep; target sell price $200. Right now, the only thing that is still up in the air is the enclosure. The fixture will be incredibly light, and I wondering if a mostly open-frame, PCB type structure might be acceptable at this price point to this prospective customer.
Thanks for your help.. I really appreciate anyone's input or advice.

I have a suspicion that the RS-232 control could be problematic. The electrical environment, in most places where lights are used, might be too noisy for an un-balanced line to work reliably. Stick with DMX.

Also, keep in mind that with ETC jumping into the LED market, your competition is a 900 pound gorilla. You'll have to build an extraordinary product to compete. You will need an excellent distributor and have to be able to operate on start up capital for a very long time in this economy. Good luck.