Lost with lights..

Nirvano

Ok, so I've worked a few different light boards for some shows here and there, but i always have someone who really knows what they're doing right by my side. I'm in set design/set construction, so needless to say, i'm no expert when it comes to lighting.:rolleyes:
So..
I'd love to actually know what it is that i'm doing.
Any links to some good sites that could help me a bit would be more than appreciated..
Especially in regards to ETC Express 48 96, and Strand 300, cause those are the two I usually work with.
Please and thank you!!

Here's the one and only great tutorial site that I know of http://www.bobbyharrelllighting.com/console_training/support.html
It's for the Strand 500 series. I think you actually find that a lot of the principles are true for any board you'll just have to learn the specific terminology.

In the end however the best thing to do is to just work with the specific console's software. Which is available for free from every major manufacturer. When you get stuck post a specific question and someone here will know how to walk you through it.

Last edited:
Ok, so I've worked a few different light boards for some shows here and there, but i always have someone who really knows what they're doing right by my side. I'm in set design/set construction, so needless to say, i'm no expert when it comes to lighting.:rolleyes:
So..
I'd love to actually know what it is that i'm doing.
Any links to some good sites that could help me a bit would be more than appreciated..
Especially in regards to ETC Express 48 96, and Strand 300, cause those are the two I usually work with.
Please and thank you!!

Go to the etc website: www.etcconnect.com

Click on the controls section and look at the express. Go to the downloads section and look for the Express quick guide. It should pretty easily explain all the basics. For more advanced features, download the offline Editor and search the manual looking for exactly what you are looking for.