Miking a Choir for Streaming

Hey all,

Next week we will be doing a live stream with our local university and their vocal performance class. Classical music and recording are not really my fortes, so I'm looking for some advice. Suggestions on miking this sort of setup, with everyone socially distanced? Also, need to be able to pick up soloists, who will change in between pieces. Also, per covid guidelines, can't share mics and we can't go into the room to facilitate switching during the event. For the same reasons, not allowed to go in and adjust mic positions while singing is in progress.

Room is a chapel, so big and boomy and reverberant.

Attached is a photo of approximately their setup, and a list of my venue's gear.

Attachments

• choir pic.jpg
    choir pic.jpg
    176.1 KB · Views: 262
  • mic spec.jpg
    mic spec.jpg
    153.3 KB · Views: 265
I'm far from an expert on this sort of thing, so take this with a grain or more of salt.

I would probably go with the simplest setup I thought I could reasonably get away with, which is probably a stereo pair of microphones centrally located, and leave it up to the choir and director to make sure the balance of soloist to the rest of the group is appropriate. If there are spoken introductions or narrations, a separate microphone for those (reasonably close-up) would be a good idea. If they're by several people, one of the PCC160's mounted to a lectern or similar can work nicely and prevent multiple people handling the same microphone. (I may have my history confused, but I think these microphones were initially designed for this sort of use, for newscasts and courtroom witness stands and pulpits and such, rather than as floor microphones.)