College Minor in Technical Theatre?

NewChris

I am currently a sophomore in high school as president of the tech crew. I really enjoy doing sound for shows. I am planning on going to college for engineering, probably electric. I am thinking about maybe minoring in technical theatre. Is this a good idea? What colleges offer technical theatre on the east coast?

I can't tell you immediately which schools on the east coast are good to look at but I would be happy to give my input when I get back from USITT on Monday. I can tell you that if you work hard to network right and make some friends (including people on this forum) that degree pair can do you well. I am in a very similar boat except my school doesn't have a technical theatre minor (only the major) and I am studying Computer Science. There are lots of companies that manufacture theatre equipment and employ electrical engineers and computer scientists. I recently wrote a post here telling of some of these people I was able to network with this week at USITT thanks to CB's conference giveaway. Many of these companies have paid internship programs. I know that both I and MNicolai have (or will have this summer) had internships at ETC (a big lighting manufacturer if you don't know) but I doubt that we are the only ones on this forum who have had manufacturing internships.

As many people will attest, it is a lot easier to pay rent as an engineer than is is as a sound designer. It's not impossible, but its not a simple feat and there isn't a one size fits all formula. Mitch Hefter (engineer at Phillips Lighting) who earned the USITT lifetime membership award this week got his degree in electrical engineering and minored in technically theatre. He is very involved in the theatre industry.

I guess what this post really boils down to is that your pairing of EE and tech theatre is a great combo. If you network right you could end up meeting some great people and working in the industry you love.