The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Mirror Ball Help

Discussion in 'Lighting and Electrics' started by adude23, Jun 13, 2008.

1. adude23

adude23 Active Member

Hi there i was wondering if anyone could tell me weather a mains powered mirror ball moter could be plugged into to a dimmer and be controlled via the desk also anyone know where to get cheap mirror balls/motors as i am looking around at the moment
    cheers
    ~adude~

2. Grog12

Grog12 CBMod CB Mods Premium Member

If you set a profile on the dimmer as non-dim yes you can but its not good for the motor of the mirror ball. Most of us would suggest against it.

Try Spencers/Wal-Mart/Target

3. DaveySimps

DaveySimps CBMod CB Mods Premium Member

Performing Arts Center Manager
    I agree 100% with Grog. Most things that need constant power do not like to be on dimmers, even with a "non-dim" profile.

~Dave

4. bobgaggle

bobgaggle Well-Known Member

Shop Foreman
    Since I'm a novice in lighting, is it possible to route the power around the dimmer entirely and essentially have a wall outlet that's controlled by the light board? The signal from the machine would just open or close a circuit. Or does the board control power only through the dimmer? does that make any sense or am I way off base?

Last edited: Jun 13, 2008
  5. tweetersaway

tweetersaway Member

Lighting & Sound Supervisor
    For mirror balls and stobes on stage, we build a really simple 3 switch box that just plugged into the wall and had 3 edison outs, one from each switch. we needed an operator in the wing for it, but it was a simple way to fix a pesky problem. I'm sure if you had the motivation, you could make the cord long enough so you could control it from the booth:grin:

Otherwise, you could always get a dmx controlled switch pack(the kind that dj's use).

6. cutlunch

cutlunch Active Member