Mixing Monitors for Idiots

Footer

Senior Team
Senior Team
Premium Member
So after the 3rd time in the past month and a half, I have been asked to mix monitors for whatever road show is coming in that is not carrying an engineer and turned it down. Our regular monitor guy left and essentially joined a commune. I have a good amount of audio experience. I have mixed more theatre then a person ever should and have done a handful of festival type situations and the very occasional band. The powers that be are not about to take our FOH guy off FOH and put him on monitors so I can mix FOH. We are looking for a more permant monitor guy, but until that happens... I might have to be it. They know I have little to no experience mixing monitors.

The rig consists of 10 Meyer UM 1Ps, 3 482s Driveracks w/ a 480R, and a Crest X12 Monitor desk.

As far as talent goes, we could have anything from a 2 piece jazz group onstage to a solo artist to a 8 piece rock band.

So, what pointers do you have for someone making the conversion from FOH to monitors? How do you usually set up your desk?

Last edited:
Not for all the gold in Ft. Knox (if any is still there)!

What's the difference between a proctologist and a monitor engineer?

Footer said:
We are looking for a more permant monitor guy...